This is the beginning of Seowon regular school built in the Goryeo Dynasty when King Gongmin (reigned 1351-1344) fled to Andong for the Red Turbans Uprising event. At that time the school was named the King Gongmin Pungak Seodang and helped donate the land and books. He was very impressed by the spirit of the students who study hard seodang.Furthermore, during the Joseon Dynasty, Pungak Seodang renamed and moved to Pungak Seowon Byeongsan quiet village in the year 1572 (5th year of the reign of King Seonjo) by Yu Seong-ryong (Seo-ae). Yu, 31 years old at the time, changed the name to be Byeongsan Seowon Pungak Seowon. After his death, his disciples made him a Seowon the altar in 1614, the six-year reign and named the temple a place Gwanghaegun Chondeoksa altar. Jesa to honor Yu Seong-ryong are routinely conducted in the spring and fall.
Byeongsan Seowon facing east toward the Nakdong River can be reached via a winding road toward the village of Hahoe. At the front gate of the building, there Mandae Hall building (Mandaeru). Ipgyodang called classrooms and on the east side there is Dongjikje, student dormitory that is parallel to the library building. Ipgyodang behind the east at a fairly high ground there is a gate where there is Chondeoksa, the temple where the altar. To the west of the temple lies the timber warehouse building, room for jesa preparation, and building officials in the east. Mandae hall has 7 pieces of the grille on the front and two in the rear that can be used to monitor the whole area around. Near the western wall of the pavilion there is a bale Kambang Bangjangseon symbolizing Mount, one of the three sacred mountains in Taoism belief. A pair of shaped stone pillar erected in front of Cheondeoksa. In the past, bonfires were lit on the stones jesa to light at night.